Our Team

We are a group of enthusiastic and tireless professional experts. The organization also includes a Board of Directors of the Corporation for the Conservation of the Estuario de la Bahía de San Juan, the Estuario de la Bahía de San Juan Management Conference, and two active committees that meet several times per year.

We are diverse, we are experts, we are Estuario

Brenda Torres Barreto, Executive Director
Cathy Ortiz, Operations Officer
Cristina Ramírez, Stakeholders and Aquatic Debris Coordinator
Yulianna de la Cruz, Project Manager
Dr. Jorge Bauzá-Ortega, Scientific Director
Carmen Rosa Valentín del Río, Office Manager
Harold Manrique Hernández, Water Quality and Citizen Science Coordinator
María Gabriela Huertas Díaz, Assistant Project Manager for Strategy


  • Laura Almodóvar – Public Policy
  • Coral Avilés – Education Coordinator
  • Víctor M. Cuadrado Landrau – Geographic Information Systems (GIS) and Website Maintenance 
  • Zuleika Cruz – Hazard Mitigation Coordinator 
  • Leonor De Jesús – Proposals Compliance Officer 
  • Carola Díaz – Accountant 
  • Tamaris Fournier – Communications Specialist
  • Natalia Jiménez – Community Gardens & Green Infrastructure 
  • Lara Medina – Community Resilience Coordinator in Arts & Culture 
  • Eliezer Nieves – Education Manager 
  • Maricela Perryman -Grant Writer / Compliance Officer 
  • Ricardo Quiñones – Aquatic Resources Resilience Coordinator 
  • Joselín Ramírez – Graphic Design & Social Media Assistant 
  • Álex Villegas – Community Resilience Coordinator 
  • Sandra Villerrael – Content Creator 
  • UPR Mayagüez – Monitoring Consultant Team 

María de Lourdes Jiménez

Carl Soderberg
Vice President

Rafael Vélez

Carlos J. Fernández Lugo

Friedel Stubbe

Blas Fonalledas

Jorge San Miguel
San Juan Bay Estuary Management Conference

Pedro A. Gelabert
Corporation for the Conservation of the San Juan Bay Estuary

Rafael Machargo
Department of Environmental and Natural Resources

Manuel Hidalgo
Planning Board

Carmen Guerrero

Federal Environmental Protection Agency for the Caribbean

Ariel Lugo
Scientific and Technical Advisory Committee (STAC)

Marisol Jiménez

Citizen Advisory Committee (CAC)

We have the following active committees that meet several times per year:

  • Scientific and Technical Advisory Committee (STAC)
  • Civic Advisory Committee (CAC)

The STAC president represents the academic/technology sectors and the CAC president represents residents before the Management Conference.